Rhode Island Statutes of Limitation

Post Reply
David A. Szwak
Posts: 1974
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:19 pm

Rhode Island Statutes of Limitation

Post by David A. Szwak »

Rhode Island Statutes of Limitation

Contracts and open accounts: 10 years (9-1-13(a)).

Breach of a sales agreement under the UCC: 4 years, (6A-2- 725(1 )).

Contracts or liabilities under seal and judgments: 20 years, (9-1-17).

Hospital liens: 1 year from payment, (9-3-6).

Against insurer to enforce repairer's lien: 1 year from payment to insured, (9-3-11).

Support obligations of common law father: 6 years, (15-8-4).

Mechanic's lien: notice given is one year and one hundred twenty days, (34-28-10. 10).
David Szwak
Chairman, Consumer Protection Section, Louisiana State Bar Association
Bodenheimer, Jones & Szwak
509 Market Street, 7th Floor
Mid South Tower
Shreveport, Louisiana 71101
Fax 318-221-6555
Post Reply

Return to “Statute of Limitations [Also Called Prescription Period]: How Long Do Creditors/Collectors Have to Sue You on an Alleged Debt?”